First Place ($500 Prize): C.B. Anderson, Massachusetts
“Stonewalls Sometimes a Prison Make” “Praise for the Mother of Summer” “Meritocracy” “Verification”

Second Place: Adam Sedia, Indiana
“At Lincoln’s Tomb” “Vision” “Untitled”

Third Place: Fr. Richard Libby, Texas
“Made in China” (publication forthcoming) “When All the World Seems New” “You See Me Nearly Daily”

Third Place: Lorna Davis, California
“The Rarest of Gems” (publication forthcoming) “November”

Third Place: Don Shook, Texas
“Commie Carcinoma” “Cosmosis” “Cellphone Blues”

Honorable Mention
James A. Tweedie, Washington State: “One Every Minute” “A Shakespeare Reverie”
Ron L. Hodges, California: “The Exclusive Inclusive” “An Atheist’s Faith” “The Fall of Jerusalem”
Joe Tessitore, New York: “A Great Divide” “Harsh Reality?” “The Morning After the Parade” “Toward the Light”


Prose Award First Place: “Poetry and the Muses” Parts 1, Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4 by James Sale, England

Prose Award Second Place: “Put Down That Poem Before You Kill Yourself” by Con Chapman, Massachusetts


Translation Award ($100 Prize): J. Simon Harris, North Carolina
Iliad, Lines I.1-47“Dante’s Inferno: Canto I”


High School First Place ($100 Prize): Wandi Zhu, New York: “Passing of the Seasons” “The Faerie Glade”

High School First Place ($100 Prize): Annabelle Fuller, England: “The Breaking Season”

High School Second Place: Deborah Ogunsanwo: “Mother Earth-Woman” “Hell on Earth”

High School Third Place: Abygail Spurling, Ohio: “The Comforter”


(Note: There were not enough submissions in the Hudson Valley New York category, so that prize was canceled)

Views expressed by individual poets and writers on this website and by commenters do not represent the views of the entire Society. The comments section on regular posts is meant to be a place for civil and fruitful discussion. Pseudonyms are discouraged. The individual poet or writer featured in a post has the ability to remove any or all comments by emailing submissions@ with the details and under the subject title “Remove Comment.”

8 Responses

  1. James Sale

    Great news – well done to all the poets!! It’s great to see and read such rich talent! I am particularly delighted to see J Simon Harris winning for his amazing translation from Dante.

  2. C.B. Anderson

    All the congratulations should go to Evan Mantyk, who created this venerable venue. I can only hope to continue contributing to what has turned out to be a truly amazing enterprise.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.